I want to be a sidewalk crack

by jdavidcharles

Not entirely sure if the poem is to be further subjected to rounds of revisions but, as of now, this is how it stands. It’s pretty straightforward so I don’t think I need add anything–enjoy!

 

I want to be a sidewalk crack because

you probably wouldn’t see me (eyes corked

upward, foot forward along my face)

 

I want to be a sidewalk crack because

you’d never expect me to be anything

other than a sidewalk crack

 

I want to be a sidewalk crack because

I’d never be seen putting on a tie for a job

interview or speeding down the 5

 

spilling coffee over from head to toe

I want to be a sidewalk crack because

I’d never ask not to be a sidewalk

 

crack although it would be perfectly within

my rights—I want to be a sidewalk crack mostly

though because no one (myself underfoot least

 

of all) would pretend to be guilty when I

split slowly open my side for each new

foot gently into me breaking little by little

