doppelgangers

by jdavidcharles

Thinking of people, memory, identity–what stories and things we tell ourselves to make-up ourselves. This poem is meant not to be didactic or moralizing but more of a space to inhabit and let these questions arise: not an answer, but a dwelling.

 

doppelgangers

 

I could swear from

behind it was you

 

or from the front

and from a distance,

 

you walked right

by and didn’t even

 

double-take as I

thought of all you

 

did and might have

done given the time

 

or whim and I decided

then and there to

 

forgive you, put it

all behind us, start

 

over, afresh, right

from the beginning,

 

and forgive myself

too, even for the things

 

undone and half

done, and, I must

 

admit, I felt a little

sorry as he reached

 

out and grabbed

your arm, slowly

 

and tightly pulling

inward, wrapping you

 

around himself,

kissing your lips.

